Congratulations to the winners from the 2020 8th District Republican Convention!

Republican Nominee for Congress:
Jeff Jordan

State Central Committee:
Sarah Curran
Vinson X. Palathingal
Eric Wilson

Michael C. Maibach

Delegates to the Republican National Convention:
Barbara Bowie-Whitman
Bill Cleveland
Mark Kelly

Alternate Delegates:
Diane Cullo
Sean Lenehan
Andrew Loposser

Additionally, Mark Kelly was re-elected as Chairman of the 8th District Republican Committee by default for a new two-year term.

Congratulations to all the winners, and thank you to all our candidates and delegates who came to vote under these most unusual circumstances!

*Last Update: May 28th, 2020*

***Due to the coronavirus and restrictions on large gatherings, The 8th District Republican Committee is holding an “unassembled” or “drive-thru” convention on May 30th. Details are below.***

The 2020 8th District Republican Convention
will be held on

Saturday, May 30th
The Waterford at Springfield
6715 Commerce Street, Springfield, Virginia

for the following purposes:

  • Nominating our Republican candidate for the U.S. House of Representatives from the 8th District;
  • Electing three delegates and three alternate delegates to represent the 8th District at the 2020 Republican National Convention in Charlotte, North Carolina;
  • Electing three members to the State Central Committee (the Republican Party of Virginia’s governing body);
  • Nominating a Presidential Elector to cast one of Virginia’s 13 votes in the 2020 Electoral College if the Republican nominee wins Virginia; and
  • Electing a Chairman of the 8th District Republican Committee to a new two-year term.

Amended Official Call

From 8th District Republican Chairman Mark Kelly:

Dear Delegates,

I pray this note finds you well. It may seem like an overused phrase at this point, but we are facing unprecedented times. Almost certainly, this virus has directly touched someone you know or a community you are a part of over the past few weeks.

I am writing today to let you know what the 8th District Republican Committee’s plans are for our convention. I apologize for the length of this email, but I encourage you to read through to the end.

When it became clear that Governor Northam’s orders would likely make a traditional convention impossible to hold, the Committee voted to take advantage of a temporary emergency provision in the Republican Party of Virginia’s state party plan.

Under that provision, we will be conducting an unassembled or drive-through convention. That means all delegates who filed to attend our traditional May 30th convention will be able to come that day and cast their votes without leaving their cars.

On Thursday, I met with our contact at the Waterford in Springfield, our original venue site, to walk through the use of their parking lot (which has covering in case of rain). Barring any unforeseen circumstances, our plan is to conduct the voting there from 9 am to 1 pm on May 30th.

In order to prevent traffic backup onto the surrounding streets, and in order to ensure your time on site is as brief as possible, we are asking delegates to arrive by alphabetical groupings.

  • 9:00 to 10:00 — A through H
  • 10:00 to 11:00 — I through P
  • 11:00 to 12:00 — Q through Z
  • 12:00 to 1:00 — Anyone who was unable to make it during their voting block

We will not turn any registered delegate away who arrives to vote outside of their recommended time. However, your cooperation would be greatly appreciated to help the process run as smoothly as possible. And, of course, anyone in the parking lot at 1:00 pm will be allowed to vote.

We will also divide the check-in and ballot distribution process into two lanes. One for Fairfax County delegates (who make up more than 50% of the registered delegates) and one for the Alexandria, Arlington and Falls Church delegates. In order to maximize ballot security, you will ONLY be able to get your ballot in the assigned lane. So please follow any signs or volunteer instructions on site to ensure you enter the correct lane.

A small number of volunteers will take safety precautions to conduct the check-in, ballot distribution and ballot collection with the least amount of contact necessary to conduct the voting process.

  • Delegates will drive into one of two assigned lanes and show their IDs through closed windows. You MUST have a valid photo ID in order to receive a ballot.
  • Ballots will be distributed through a small crack in your window by a volunteer wearing a mask and gloves.
  • Single use pens will be available to any delegate who needs one.
  • Completed ballots will be dropped by delegates directly in a collection box.

Additionally we are making available to all candidates the opportunity to post videos on our website. All videos provided to us have been posted on our website.

And we will offer all candidates the opportunity to speak to you directly via a video conference prior to the 30th. The details on that call will come out in a separate email.

Thank you for your patience throughout this process. You will receive additional reminders over the next two weeks.


Mark Kelly

P.S. If you have a chronic health issue related to COVID-19 that would prevent you from attending in person on May 30th, please contact me directly at to make your concern known to the Committee. We are working through a POSSIBLE process to accommodate those who would otherwise be able to attend if not for the public health emergency.


» Mark Ellmore
» Jeff Jordan

Chairman of the 8th District Republican Committee
» Mark Kelly

Delegate to the 2020 Republican National Convention
You may vote for up to six (6) candidates. The top 3 finishers will be Delegates, and the next 3 will be Alternate Delegates.

» Erin Anderson
» Barbara Bowie-Whitman
» William “Bill” Cleveland
» Diane Cullo
» Derek Gianino
» James Glenn
» Mark Kelly
» Sean Lenehan
» Andrew P. Loposser
» Linda A. Pellegrino
» Adam Roosevelt
» Karen C. Rose
» James W. “Jim” Trollinger

Electoral College Elector
» Barbara Bowie-Whitman
» James Glenn
» Michael C. Maibach

State Central Committee
You may vote for up to three (3) candidates. The top three finishers will be elected.

» Jack Blakely
» Sarah Curran
» Vinson X. Palathingal
» Eric Wilson



Mark Ellmore for Congress

Jeff Jordan for Congress


Erin Anderson for Delegate

Barbara Bowie-Whitman for Delegate

Bill Cleveland for Delegate

Diane Cullo for Delegate

Derek Gianino
No video received yet

James Glenn
No video received yet

Mark Kelly
No video received yet

Sean Lenehan for Delegate

Andrew Loposser
No video received yet

Linda Pellegrino

Adam Roosevelt
No video received yet

Karen Rose for Delegate

Jim Trollinger for Delegate


Barbara Bowie-Whitman for Elector

James Glenn
No video received yet

Michael Maibach


Jack Blakely for State Central Committee

Sarah Curran for State Central Committee

Vinson X. Palathingal for State Central Committee

Eric Wilson for State Central Committee