The Committee

The 8th District Republican Committee is an arm of the Republican Party of Virginia. Each congressional district has a district committee, which is comprised of the unit chairs of the units within the district as well as representatives of the various auxiliary organizations.

The 8th District Republican Committee meets quarterly and as called by the chairman. Our jobs include:

(1) assisting local Republican campaigns, units, and auxiliaries;
(2) determining the method of nomination of the Republican candidate for Congress; and
(3) holding a District Convention every two years to elect party officers.

Our quarterly meetings are open to the public, though only the members listed below may vote. If you’d like to join us, please let us know in advance as meetings are sometimes held in locations with limited space.

8th District Republican Committee Members

Last change: February 2017

Mark Kelly

Vice Chairman (non-voting member):
Susan Valentine

Alexandria Republican City Committee Chairman:
Sean Lenehan

Arlington County Republican Committee Chairman:
Jim Presswood

Fairfax County Republican Committee Chairman’s Representative:
Mike Carucci

Falls Church City Republican Committee Chairman:
Matthew Kahn

State Central Committee Members (3):
Sandy Liddy Bourne (
Dave Foster (
[1 vacancy]

Virginia Federation of Republican Women Representative:
Debbie Bodlander

Young Republicans Representative:
Matthew Hurtt

College Republicans Representative:
Connor Marley

Treasurer (non-voting member):
Chris Marston

Webmaster (non-voting member):
Tommy Valentine