2010 Convention

Click here for a recap of this year’s convention!

Under the Republican Party of Virginia’s Party Plan, District Committees hold conventions every two years in order to elect a Congressional District Chairman and conduct other district-related business.  The 2010 Convention is set, and information about the convention is provided below.

Where and When: The 2010 8th District Republican Convention will be held on Saturday, May 22, 2010, starting at 10:00 a.m., at T.C. Williams High School Auditorium, located at 3330 King Street, Alexandria, VA, 22302 (map).

Purpose: The purpose of the Convention will be to elect a District Chairman.  (The GOP nominee for Congress will be selected in a primary that will be held on Tuesday, June 8, 2010.)

Nominations for District Chairman: Any person who desires to seek election as District Chairman must file a signed written statement to that effect, along with a non-refundable filing fee of $1,000.00 (One thousand dollars and zero cents), with the current chairman, Mike Ginsberg, or his designee, at 1276 N. Wayne St. #408, Arlington, VA, 22201, no later than 5:00 PM Eastern Standard Time, Friday, February 19th, 2010 (postmark shall not count). The filing fee shall be payable to the 8th District Republican Committee.

Attending the Convention as a Delegate: If you are interested to sign up to be a delegate to the 2010 District Convention, you can sign up to be a delegate to the convention through your Unit Committee, which will formally elect delegates to the Convention.  Details on how to sign up will be posted by the respective committees — Arlington County Republican Committee, Alexandria Republican City Committee, Falls Church City Republican Committee, and Fairfax County Republican Committee.  The filing fee to be a delegate to the Convention is $35 (mandatory).

Attending the Convention as a Non-Delegate: The convention is open to the public and all are encouraged to attend. However, non-delegates may not cast votes or participate in any official business matters. Non-delegates may participate in the straw poll for a $20 fee.

Official Convention Call: To view and download the Official Call, click here: 2010 8th District Convention Call (.doc file type — Microsoft Word document)

Straw Poll Rules:

–No person will be permitted to vote more than one ballot.
–Delegates to the convention will receive a ballot at no charge.  When they vote their ballot, their nametag will be punched, so that they cannot vote again.
–Non-delegates to the convention may vote in the straw poll at a cost of $20.  Non-delegates participating in the straw poll will only be permitted to vote one ballot.  Non-delegates who choose to participate in the straw poll and pay the $20 will receive a ballot and a nametag.  The nametag will be punched when the participant submits his/her ballot to prevent the participant from voting again.
–Anyone who is eligible to contribute to campaigns under Federal election law may participate in the straw poll.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s