Convention Results

Thank you to everyone who attended the 2012 8th District Convention this past Saturday, May 12, at Bishop O’Connell High School in Arlington.  We had incredible turnout — over 400 delegates on a beautiful Saturday in May.  The convention ran from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m., and delegates got to hear from candidates for election at the convention and candidates for election to public office in 2012 and 2013.

Thank you to the candidates for office who joined us for the convention — Attorney General Ken Cuccinelli, 8th District congressional nominee Patrick Murray, Arlington County Board candidate Matthew Wavro, and Fairfax Clerk of Court John Frey. Thank you also to all of the representatives of the various 2012 and 2013 campaigns that joined us at the convention to speak on behalf of their candidates.

Here are the winners and the results of the elections held at the Convention:

Chairman of the 8th District Republican Committee (uncontested):
Mike Ginsberg

Delegates to the Republican National Convention:
Erin Anderson, Matthew Burrow, Evan Draim
Full Results (PDF)

Alternate Delegates to the Republican National Convention:
Heather Homan, Marta Saltus, Maggie Wynne
Full Results (PDF)

State Central Committee:
Mark Kelly, Anne LeHuray, Rich Nilsen
Full Results (PDF)

Presidential Elector in the Electoral College:
George Croft
Full Results (PDF)

Congratulations to all those elected. Thank you also to all the candidates who stood for election at the 8th District Convention.  We had wonderful candidates and simply could not go wrong in our choices.

Thank you to all of our volunteers at the convention. Without the volunteers, we simply could not have put on such a great convention.  Very special thanks to Wayne Kubicki, the elections committee chairman, Scott McGeary, the credentials committee chairman, and Chris Marston, the convention’s temporary chairman. They were responsible for organizing registration, the balloting process, and running the convention smoothly and efficiently.

Our volunteer team also included: Nancy Almasi, Debbie Bodlander, Shari Bolouri, Maria Ciarrocchi, Ken Feltman, Chris Gaskill, Loree Gunn, Brenda Hankins, Dena Kozanas, Gail Ledwig, Joey McGeary, Ian Meyeroff, Adam Mikilia, Sandy Mikilia, Brian Pandya, Catherine Rigby, Emily Slack, Pat Spann, Jessica Talbert, and Magee Whelan.  Thank you to all of them for arriving early, helping set up, running all of the convention operations, and helping to clean up after the convention.

Onward to victory in November!

This entry was posted in News & Updates. Bookmark the permalink.