Fairfax County GOP Convention Recap

The Fairfax County Republican Committee held its biannual convention this past Saturday. Matt Ames was re-elected as Chairman of the Fairfax County GOP.

Here’s a recap from FCRC:

March 12th, 2016 – Fairfax, Virginia: The Fairfax County Republican Committee (FCRC) held its bi-annual convention today in Springfield at the Waterford. More than 780 delegates submitted their delegate voting forms before the February 20th deadline to attend. At the convention, Mr. Matt Ames was re-elected for a second term as chairman of the committee. He faced a challenge from Mr. Tim Hannigan, a member of the committee and a precinct captain in the Sully district.


After the results of the election were announced to the excited crowd, Mr. Ames said “I am honored to be chosen as your chairman for another two years so that we can accomplish all that we set out to do – including defeating Hillary Clinton in November and seeing this party grow in Fairfax!” Mr. Ames credited the victory to the work of the many volunteers and local activists who donate their time and effort to support local Republican candidates, including the FCRC leadership team.


Mr. Hannigan thanked his supporters for their help, and said that it was time to “…join together and push the wheel forward for Republicans this November.”


Attendees of the convention listened to various speeches from individuals seeking office both in 2016 and 2017, and enjoyed live musical entertainment. Many prominent Republicans from Fairfax County were in attendance, including Congresswoman Barbara Comstock, former governor George Allen, former Attorney General Ken Cuccinelli, and former U.S. Senate candidate Ed Gillespie, as well as several sitting members of the Virginia House of Delegates.


This entry was posted in News & Updates. Bookmark the permalink.