State Convention Recap

The Republican Party of Virginia State Convention was held last weekend in Harrisonburg. Here’s what happened:

RPV Chairman

RPV Chairman John Whitbeck was re-elected in an uncontested race.

Republican National Committeeman

Arlington’s own Morton Blackwell was overwhelmingly re-elected.

Republican National Committeewoman

Cynthia Dunbar narrowly defeated Suzanne Obenshain for RNC National Committeewoman by a margin of 50.6% to 49.4%. Here is how our units voted:

» Alexandria: Obenshain 92%, Dunbar 8%
» Arlington: Obenshain 62%, Dunbar 38%
» Fairfax County: Dunbar 51%, Obenshain 49%
» Falls Church: Obenshain 50%, Dunbar 50%

Congratulations to both candidates on a hard-fought race.

At-Large Delegates to the Republican National Convention

A slate of 13 at-large delegates to the Republican National Convention, with 10 stating support for Ted Cruz and 3 stating support for Donald Trump, was passed with 54.6% of the vote. Here are the people elected on the slate as at-large delegates:

» Leon Benjamin
» Bethany Bostron
» Del. Kathy Byron
» Hon. Ken Cuccinelli
» Cynthia Dunbar
» Anne Gentry
» Del. Tim Hugo
» Matthew Hurtt
» Subba Kola
» Ellen Nau
» Jack Salm
» Chris Shores
» Virginia Thomas

Here is how our units voted on the slate:

» Alexandria: Yes 50%, No 50%
» Arlington: Yes 79%, No 21%
» Fairfax County: Yes 67%, No 33%
» Falls Church: Yes 83%, No 17%

Other positions

Samuel Howe and Erich Reimer were selected as at-large electors for the Electoral College. They will cast two of Virginia’s electoral votes if the Republican nominee carries Virginia.

13 people were selected as alternate at-large delegates to the Republican National Convention, including Alexandria GOP Chairman Sean Lenehan.

Thank you to all of our 8th District Republicans who attended the convention!

This entry was posted in News & Updates. Bookmark the permalink.